Library Lady Book Review: Jane Eyre

51FDdgyx9WL._AA200_Jane Eyre, By Charlotte Bronte

 “Now for the hitch in Jane’s character,” he said at last.  “The reel of silk has run smoothly enough so far; but I always knew there would come a knot and a puzzle: here it is. Now for vexation, and exasperation, and endless trouble!”

So says Mr. Rochester when Jane Eyre refuses to do his despicable bidding.  Despite the fact that she loves him more than life itself, Jane must run from his side, and vow never to darken his door again.

 “Gentle reader, may you never feel what I then felt? May your eyes never shed such stormy, scalding, heart-wrung tears as poured from mine.”

Set in Victorian England, Jane begins her story as a penniless orphan, left to the dubious mercy of her Aunt, Sara Reid.  After a particularly trying day of abuse at the hands of her cousins, Jane tells them what she thinks of them.  The consequences are severe, and Jane falls into the clutches of the the sinister Mr. Brocklehurst, proprietor of Lowood School.

Eight years later Jane graduates, and is hired as a tutor at an isolated mansion.  When Jane finally meets Mr. Rochester, her glowering but oddly compelling employer, strange things begin to happen –

While I paced softly on,” said Jane, “the last sound I expected to hear in so still a region, a laugh, struck my ears.  It was a curious laugh – distinct, formal, mirthless . . .

The reader, already won over by Jane’s gentle but forthright character, is soon pulled into the mystery and romance that permeates Thornfield Hall.  We follow Jane through triumph and disaster, an inheritance, a marriage proposal, and a possible life in the service of God, but what of her beloved Mr. Rochester? The only sure thing about Jane’s story is that once you start it you won’t be able to put it down.

Jane Eyre was first published in 1847, and it is no accident that it’s still one of the most highly circulated books in the public library system. It may sound strange to say, but this brooding and unerringly romantic classic is one that I wish I had never read. Why? So I could have the pleasure of reading it again for the very first time.

12 thoughts on “Library Lady Book Review: Jane Eyre

  1. Jane Eyre is a fabulous book!!! Everyone should read it. Here is my book review for the day: I have gone back to reread a youth fiction book that has been a favorite of mine for a long time: The Great Brain by John D. Firzgerald. I love this book. It is so fun and the characters are loveable. I own most, if not the whole series. I think “The Great Brain at the Academy” is my very favorite of the series. Who is the Great Brain you ask? Well he is a lovable 19th century Utah version of the slick talking Tom Sawyer. Now I know you’ll want to read it. 🙂 Enjoy!

  2. Jane Eyre was my favorite book of all time, until I read “These is My Words” last year. I didn’t know why I was so compelled to read it–every year! I haven’t read it now for about two years, but it was a yearly ritual for me. Once I got it on tape for a long trip and I loved the British accent reading it–and pronouncing all the French seemingly flawlessly. What is it about Jane Eyre? All the twists and turns, maybe. Rochester was certainly not a loveable character, and it made me wonder what such a young girl would see in him.
    Geanie, I’m enjoying your reviews. This is a great blog.
    BTW, we miss you at ANWA and were just talking about you last night at our meeting because we needed a librarian’s opinion about something, I can’t remember what now.
    And I miss your book. I hope you can find some time to work on it. It’s a delightful story.
    ~Susan Knight

    • Hi susan, what a great blog. I left a comment on the financial awareness post, but not sure if it went through. Let me know if I need to send it again. This information is priceless, and I applaud you for putting it out there. Geanie. Miss the writing group, just too many other nights away from home though. I’ll come visit one of these days.

      • Yes, I’ve read all the sequals. I just finished the last one. They aren’t as good as the first, but I kept reading them because I became so enamored of Sarah and her family.
        I can’t believe you went on my blog. Gosh, I hope you never need any of the information on there. I’ll check to see if your comment went through. I’ve tried to make it as easy as possible to comment.
        I’ve been told people go on but they don’t comment. It’s a very hard subject.
        Thanks! Hope to see you soon!

      • I hardley get any comments on mine either and it’s not a hard subject. I think that’s just how it goes. That’s why it’s great to hear from you. Thanks. Oh, I appreciated the shout out on facebook too.

      • No, I don’t see your post on my blog. I usually get notification if anyone comments. Please try again, or email me and I’ll add it to the comments section. I’d love to hear what you had to say.

  3. Pingback: ‘Reader I married him’ | Soft Day, Thank God

I'd love to hear from you.

