DP Challenge: Not A Party Thrower

party hatMy Mom is a party thrower.  She loves to entertain. She has the neighbors over for cards, for brunch, and for no reason whatsoever.  I admire that quality in others, the ability to gather people together and show them a good time. My father on the other hand was  more reserved.  He was a truck driver, and very intelligent in his humble way.  A great lover of the written word, he read voraciously.

I am my father’s daughter.  I love to read and write, and am perfectly happy with no one but myself for company.  My idea of a  good time is to curl up in a comfy chair with Jane Austin or Charlotte Bronte, (all the better if hot cocoa or snow is involved).

Needless to say, I am not a party thrower.  The very idea of hosting a big soiree gives me hives. All that preparation – deciding what to serve, the complications of a guest list and invitations – it’s all too much. Worst of all, what if nobody comes?

What if you throw a party and nobody comes? Now there’s an idea I’d like to strike from my psyche, since in all it’s variations, it holds me back from trying things I really want to do. Being in charge of the community art show for instance, submitting my writing to a publisher,  or most recently, writing a blog. I get very whiney when asked to step out of the box. But over the years I’ve decided that just because it isn’t in my nature to do something, doesn’t mean I can’t.

I now have some great artist friends, some of my writing has been published, and I’ve been blogging for a month. I have 29 followers! Yes twenty-nine!  Don’t laugh those of you with casts of thousands, because I am thrilled, and 29 is better than zero, which is what I would have had if I hadn’t tried.

Moving out of your comfort zone is never easy, but it can be quite fun – Woohoo!, Look at me, I have a blog! And to my small band of followers I’d like to say this – I appreciate you all, and . . .  thanks for coming to my party!

See DP Challenge

18 thoughts on “DP Challenge: Not A Party Thrower

  1. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: DNA Analysis | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: DNA Analysis | 3rdculturechildren

  3. Pingback: Bipolar Disorder | A mom's blog

  4. I think I will be number thirty. This looks like my kind of blog. I am happy you decided to try as well. Your question about throwing a party and no one shows up will be answered on the first rejection. ACK! 🙂

    • ACK! I’ve already been there, done that. I’m in the rewrite process of my book as it was frowned upon by the first publisher. I joined a writing group and have gotten a lot of feedback. Luckily I can see where the problems lie now. Come again soon.

  5. Pingback: For the Love of Literature | Ramisa the Authoress

  6. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge – DNA Analysis | Joe's Musings

  7. I cringe at the idea of parties. I recently read “Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking”, by Susan Cain. I’m not shy and enjoy intelligent conversations, but being forced into a situation of mindless chatter sends me running. ~ Dennis

I'd love to hear from you.

