Thankful

Yesterday did not start out well.  First of all, the dark cloud that has been hovering on the family horizon for some time – we’ll just call it an employment challenge – has finally descended.  Next my daughter and I had a disagreement and the subsequent discussion caused her to be late getting ready for a doctor’s appointment. When she finally dashed out the door to leave, the car was dead. She missed her appointment, the car needs expensive repairs. My husband came down with a cold and my computer came down with a virus.  Unfortunately I could go on but I’ll spare you.  You get the general idea.

Now, my friend Loren has a theory about times like this, which I’d like to share with you. Driving home from work one dark and stormy night, he blew a tire.  His natural response was, Why Me?  As he struggled with the tire jack while being pelted with rain, he had a revelation.  Why not me?  I’m able-bodied, I know how to change a tire and I have a spare.  Better me than my grandmother, or a single mom with a van full of kids. He said this idea changed his outlook on life.

I liked it and decided to adopt it in my own life.  As always, when put the test, it’s easier said than done, but here goes.

Regarding my current adversities – why not me? I have a strong family support system and am surrounded by people I love.  I have my health and a home and food on the table.  I live in a free country and have faith in a God who walks with me through trials.  I could go on and on, and I will – privately.  Because I’d much rather focus on my blessings than my problems.  Especially at this time of year.  Best wishes to all, and happy Thanksgiving.

12 thoughts on “Thankful

  1. Congratulations on the most positive attitude I’ve ever heard or read. I hope it all works out for you. Murphy is the deity in charge of this stuff and he’s a pixie with an odd sense of humor. Our week … actually the last 12 years … have been a masterpiece proving how much bad luck one family can survive. Quite a lot, as it turns out.

  2. Amazing Geanie! Thank you, I needed this today. So here’s just a start of my list:
    1) I know that God is there
    2) I have an amazing and supportive family
    3) I have amazing and supportive friends
    4) I have shelter and food . . . (life is okay 🙂 )

I'd love to hear from you.

