How To Be Happier 7 Days A Week

Laughing Man 6Having a bad day? Feeling sad or discouraged?  Read on:

“Don’t compare yourself, celebrate yourself!”
“Run your own race, you have something great to offer.”
“Live without excuses.”
“Guilt will steal your joy.”
(Excerpts from guilt Will Steal Your Joy, by Joel Osteen)

I’m not usually a fan of Television evangelists. However sound their their message, there’s always the danger of one of those excruciating public apologies when caught in the midst of some scandal or the other. Who can forget Tammy Faye Baker‘s   (http://tammyfaye.com/)  tear-induced runaway mascara, when hubby Jim confessed his infidelity on a worldwide broadcast. Thanks to this and many other public implosions, the image of the T.V preacher has suffered over the years, but Joel Osteen seems bent on changing  that.

joel osteen

While Osteen is the acknowledged Mega King of the Mega T.V. churches, he seems to be a horse of a different color. With his rock solid marriage, and  practical, positive message, there’s a lot to like about the man.

I’ve been listening to his audio book, and his stories are homey and down to earth; real life situations that anyone can relate to. And though I’m not personally a member of his  flock, I like to pick up nuggets of truth wherever I  find them. Osteen’s book is a virtual gold mine.

Here’s a few more sample’s:

“We have what we need to be happy, we just don’t have the right perspective.”
“You cannot give Thanks to God and stay down and discouraged.”
“We can’t control our circumstances, but we can control our reactions.”
“When you allow what someone says or does to upset you, you’re allowing them to control you.”
“Every day tell your children, your spouse, those who mean the most to you, how much you love them.”
“Today you are living in tomorrows good old days.”

I picked this book up because I needed something to listen to while I waited for my real book to come in from another library.  By the time my hold showed up I couldn’t put this one down.  Osteen’s book is funny, entertaining and inspiring.  I recommend it to anyone who find themselves grappling with the complexities of everyday life.

Laughing Man 2

14 thoughts on “How To Be Happier 7 Days A Week

  1. Pingback: holiday mood swings | Musings of a Random Mind

  2. Pingback: Why Do We Fall? | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real

  3. Pingback: Global Village | A mom's blog

  4. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Multi Media | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)

  5. Pingback: CHEERS TO GREAT FRIENDS AND ZIGNI | Hellen Masido

  6. “We can’t control our circumstances, but we can control our reactions.”
    Something I work on constantly…reaction. It is so true and it makes a difference in how you feel. Nice post, LL!

    • Isn’t that a hard one though? I am so determined to control my emotions, and even start out the day saying I will do this. Then someone catches me off gaurd, and all my good intentions fly out the window. Grrr.

  7. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Multimedia Story telling | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  8. Pingback: What it Means to be an Imperfect Human | Ramisa the Authoress

  9. I love the “We can’t control our circumstances, but we can control our reactions.” I may have to try this book. You give great suggestions Geanie!

I'd love to hear from you.

