My Dog Isn’t Dead, It Just Looks That Way

Here is a picture of my dog.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Here’s another one.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERAand one more.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERAIf you  notice a certain lack of activity in these images you’re right.  The only time I see Lucy move anymore is when she hears food hitting her bowl. Somewhere in my dog’s DNA, there must be a distant link to a bear, because she seems to have gone into hibernation.

Rosie Bear

Rosie Bear

I can hardly blame her since we live in Utah, and our back yard – her playground – is currently piled high with snow.  Quite  frankly there’s not a lot for a dog to do outside these days, except shiver and whine to be let back in, so she’d just as soon lay on the couch.

Unfortunately for Lucy she is a dog.  Cats have the litter box option, but dogs are not so lucky and must occasionally leave the house. This is accomplished by a combination of bribes, physical force, and promises to stand by the door until she is ready to come back in.

This last requirement, standing guard while the dog does her business, is rather tedious, but necessary.  If I don’t watch her she’ll just pretend to go so she can hurry back in the house. I try to be patient and control my chattering teeth as she picks her  way around the yard, all the while glancing anxiously in my direction to make sure I haven’t abandoned her.

Poor doggie, I can  only imagine how I’d feel if every time I had to go to the bathroom it meant trekking barefoot and coatless through snow up to my belly.   I would be even less  enthusiastic about the prospect than Lucy is. In fact I might just come back in the house, pull a blanket over my head and hibernate.

Now in theory, hibernating is not a bad idea – for a dog.  You stay warm, you don’t get into your usual amount of trouble, and the time would seem to pass quite pleasantly.  There is one problem though. Hibernating bears don’t eat and ultimately end up skinny.  Because they are bored, semi-hibernating dogs live to eat, and consequently end up fat.  I’m afraid that by the end of the season I’ll have a roley poley butter ball dog.

fat dogWhat to do with dogs in the winter?   It’s not like animals can go to the gym – although there’s an idea someone should work on – I’d sign up for a gym that had an exercise doggie daycare attached. I think there’s an outdoor mall downtown that lets you bring your pooch, but that’s quite a drive, and my husband takes her out for walks whenever the roads and sidewalks melt, but that still leaves a lot of down time.

I was discussing this matter with  the author of http://weliveinaflat.wordpress.com/  they have a large dog in an apartment in Singapore, and she suggested day care where the dogs can romp with their friends, and more indoor play. What do you think? Any ideas?

Do you have a snoringly bored winter dog?  What do you do?  I’d love to hear from you, and so would Lazy Lucy.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

12 thoughts on “My Dog Isn’t Dead, It Just Looks That Way

  1. All my pictures of my dogs are taekn when they are asleep. It’s the only time they let me take their pictures. That or when Garry is actually restraining them. They hate my camera and I don’t even use flash. It’s personal.

    It’s so very cold and the dogs go out only reluctantly. And not often enough, if you get my drift. I could happily skip winter.

  2. This is definitely one reason I’m glad we have cats. The whole going outside with the dog to use the bathroom or having to walk the dog in the winter is just too much for me. Now, my cats do like to go outside and they are getting major cabin fever these last couple of days. They go outside for about a minute and them come in and sit on the heating vent and then look for something to bat around the house since they can’t play outside. Not sure what to do…

  3. I love that they sit on the heating vent! Here’s an idea someone gave me. Lucy loves to play fetch. So I sit in the entryway and throw her ball down the stairs. By the time she’s chased her ball up and down a hundred times she’s pretty winded. I doubt cats would go for that though. They’d probably just give you a cat look and walk away.

  4. First, my dog’s name is Lucy too. We life in Southern California, so her outdoor time doesn’t change much. However, my mom recently started a new job and is gone most of the day, so our Lucy runs around the house ecstatic when mom gets home.
    During the day, she’ll rotate between sleeping and dropping the ball at people’s feet. We’ll kick it around the house, she’ll chase it, and the cycle continues. At 8:30, however, she is done for the day and goes into her own hibernation mode.

  5. We used to live in a warm climate – Texas to be exact. It was wonderful for the dog except for one problem, fleas. The one good thing about it getting so cold here in the winter is that fleas freeze and don’t come back.
    I liked your time travel post, will check back .

  6. We bought her a friend, another dog. The long timer(youngest) is skinny, the new dog(older) is getting um, portly…..she does get exercise outside…..she is just a mooch pooch.:)

  7. Sorry, this reply is long overdue, but I just happened on to it. I wold love to get Lucy a buddy, but my husband, the one who scoops the poop, disagrees. For now we’ve found her a neighbor dog who comes over to play. that works almost as well. Love to your mooch pooch.

  8. Haha!! I realize this post was from a year ago, however I quite literally laughed out loud reading this. My Toby is EXACTLY like your Lucy, in every way. Including the looks! Also being from Utah, it makes me wonder if they’re brother and sister… He too hibernates in winter (and spring and fall and summer), and I lovingly refer to him as my extra couch cushion. Glad I ran across your blog!

    • Sorry I’m such a slacker, I’ve been doing another online job and get too busy for my blog. Glad you liked thist. I’d love to see a picture of your lazy dog. Have you got one on your blog?

I'd love to hear from you.

