Downton Abby – Emphasis on the Down

So did anyone watch Downton Abby last night?  What’d you think?  I think  I’m about done with this show.  I won’t go into detail for those who haven’t seen it yet, but the new storyline with Anna and Bates is too bleak, too sad, and rather disturbing. Basically, more than I want to deal with at this time in my life.

It’s unfortunate, because I  loved this show.  Downton Abby, like it’s counterparts Larkrise to Candleford, and Cranford has always been delightful, witty, fun and uplifting, and while everyone has their problems, things usually work out without adding too much stress to my day.

Last night’s episode of DA was different.  I feel vaguely sad and haunted by  Anna’s fate, and  I’m angry at the writers for dreaming up this situation in the first place.  Now while I understand that the storyline is very realistic –  things like this happened to servants in those days, especially to women, but it still seemed unnecessary. Kind of like the writer’s are grasping at straws to keep the ratings up, but  at poor Anna’s expense.

I guess in a way my reaction is a compliment to the writing staff. The fact that I apparently care so much about these fictional characters must mean  the show is well written and  engaging. The problem is, I watch these shows to escape from the difficulties of the world.  In the past I’ve always been entertained by Downton Abby, and looked forward each week to seeing what crazy thing happened next, but suddenly  I find . . . I don’t want to know.

Too bad  Julian Fellows. You just lost a viewer, and I suspect I’m not the only one.

15 thoughts on “Downton Abby – Emphasis on the Down

  1. I’m glad to hear you got this. I published it an hour ago and so far it hasn’t shown up on the reader. Have you ever had that happen before? Maybe there’s a lot of people posting at the same time or something.

  2. Haven’t seen it, but I’ve similar experiences with shows I love. It’s like they have to keep coming up with more and more crazy things to keep the viewer interested. I’ve given up on shows because of this.

  3. I was so sad about Anna, she’s always been a favorite of mine in the cast and it seems so wrong for anything to happen to her. I swear if the characters chose to be honest with each other instead of upholding this weird sense of it being noble to suffer instead of risking offense or possibly casting a bad light on others there wouldn’t be a story!

  4. Recovering in my recliner after my bilateral mastectomy, I watched too much tv on Netflix and Amazon Prime. I watched every season of shows I had never watched before – “Mad Men”, “Everybody Loves Raymond” and “Breaking Bad”. I started to watch DA but became sidetracked with “Mad Men”. I might have to start DA over again, but maybe not if this is how it ends up.

  5. Don’t let me discourage you. I used to love the show, and my husband refuses to stop watching, so you’ll have to judge for yourself. It’s good to hear from you again. I hope all is well. It sounds like you got to watch a lot of T.V for awhile there. Did you have a favorite?

    • Mad Men was probably my favorite because I was working downtown Chicago in ’71, and this show reminded me so much of life back then! I still have last year’s season to catch up on (but I don’t want to pay for it) and then I think there’s one more season yet to be televised.

      I was also hooked on Breaking Bad, I didn’t expect to like it from the description but, I was hooked after the 1st episode!

  6. Yes ! I agree ! I’ve lost interest in the show as well. First when they brought back the character who thought she might be pregnant yet then when confronted she disappeared again… and even moreso with the situation that Anna and Bates have come to. I did not watch last night and though I used to look forward to watching… did not feel I was missing anything by not seeing it last night.

  7. Pingback: Four Paws Up! | The Library Lady and Rosie Bear

I'd love to hear from you.

