Deli Dilemma

iStock_submarine-sandwichMy daughter and I were watching television last night and a Subway Sandwich commercial came on.  Apparently they’re having a sale right now – something like when you buy a six-inch sub it’s $5.00 but for a quarter more you get a whole sandwich.

Daughter:  I hate it when they do this sale.

Me: Why?

Because I can never eat a whole sandwich but now if I buy a half, I feel like I’m getting ripped off. The other day I was in there and ordered a half and I felt Like the whole restaurant turned around and gasped, and then this woman ahead of me tried to be helpful and told me that for only a quarter more I could get a whole sandwich.

So what did you do?

I only got a half, but I felt like I wasted money.

So next time get the whole thing and only eat half and save it for later.

That doesn’t work, because you can’t save those.  They get all soggy in the refrigerator, and then it’s just sitting there and I paid good money for it so I feel like I should eat it even though it’s gross.

So you can either get a half and not worry that people think you’re an idiot, or get the whole thing and feel like you got a a good deal even though you’ll throw half of it away and waste perfectly good food when people are starving  in the world.

Sigh, I don’t think I can even go there anymore.

Note to Subway – your sale is too stressful.

32 thoughts on “Deli Dilemma

  1. Thank you for sharing this article quite interesting and, hopefully true happiness rays began to warm our hearts and make the heart glad, when we can share it with sincere to each other. Affectionate greetings from Gede Prama 🙂

  2. You know, I feel exactly the same way. I can’t eat a whole sandwich, so unless my husband wants to share one with me … and we don’t have the same taste in sandwiches, I fear … I wind up feeling guilty about wasting food. So I avoid subway. I don’t think it’s what they had in mind.

    • I’m surprised about how many people feel the same way. I’ll have to tell my
      daughter she’s not alone. No, I think it’s not what they had in mind, but I bet plenty of people go for it and buy more than they really want. (Except for you and my daughter and me. A mini protest group?)

  3. Hmm. . .all I could think about was what I do after a date has taken me out to eat. I usually get a box to take the leftovers home, but I feel like such a hypocrite because, with few exceptions, restaurant food is not good as leftovers and I rarely eat what I took home. I know, sad right?!

    • Hi Judy, good to hear from you! I know restaurant food never looks the same the next day. Except for Cafe Rio. It gets better. I just found a text from you from clear back in December. I felt bad I missed it. Check your E. Mail O.K.?

  4. That’s funny, my husband and I were just talking about the Subway $5 footlong deal. He was questioning how they can still have the same deal after all these years (it began in 2008), especially since the price of food keeps going up and a lot of the other chains seem to be raising prices. We were wondering what’s really in that roast beef or tuna sandwich 🙂

      • That place really scares me. In high school I went there almost every day. Now, I haven’t been in years. How can you have a 59 cent taco. It can’t possibly be beef in there.

  5. oh this was precious! it sounds like we have the same daughter! things like that stress her out all the time and it is a constant source of entertainment. after pulling an allnighter to get a project finished for uni she was lying in bed the following night and somehow discovered she wasn’t able to say the word preliminary, her sleep addled brain had her stumbling through it and the next thing she is actually crying on her poor startled other halfs shoulder. she was crying laughing tears as she told me this on the phone until she realised she still couldn’t say the word correctly!

  6. They only get soggy if the condiments are on the sandwich. I prefer Quizno’s, but unfortunately the franchise has almost completely pulled out of the Eugene area. The last time I went to Subway, I didn’t like the food; it was bland. There’s a new chain in town, ToGos that is very good, especially the roast beef. I only order roast beef when I can get it rare and Subway never has it rare, only overcooked, so overcooked that I’d rather chew on my shoe.

  7. I’m really bad, when my husband and I eat-out I’ll take my half-eaten food (usually a Whataburger) and bring it home to the dogs; scrape off onions and split it between them. We don’t eat out very often, so I don’t feel guilty in that sense other than my dogs are diabetic and I really shouldn’t give them any treats, but, I look into their big brown eyes and think about ‘quality over quantity’ and hand feed them my leftovers. It has never bothered their blood glucose levels.

    • I agree, how can ou resist. Both dogs? We used to have a cat that was diabetic. We had to give her shots every day and it was not fun. she lasted quite awhile though so definitely worth it.

  8. This is funny! I feel the same way, but usually get the entire sandwich and eat it later. If I leave the mayo off, it’s not all that soggy 🙂 I don’t go there often… last time I went, the sign touted that any footlong was $5… but one was $7.50. I don’t like it when places play games like that with their deals.
    I noticed from a comment above that you used to work for Taco Bell… me too! A long time ago. When I first started, we had to block and shred cheese, cook 20-lb chubs of burger meat, and the refried beans were real. Times changed 🙂

  9. Alright! A kindred spirit. Did you have to sift the rocks out of the beans? Everynow and then we’d miss one and have a very unhappy customer. The worst part was having to close and clean up all that grease – ugh. Did you have Bellburgers? I miss those, they were the best..

I'd love to hear from you.

