Death and Dismemberment

I got a letter the other day stating that my Accidental Death and Dismemberment policy was coming up for renewal.  Now I’ve been kind of conflicted about this insurance for long time.  It’s not very expensive, that’s why I picked it up in the first place, but it’s also kind of a waste of money.  I’ve had it for approximately 20 years and so far have not suffered any death or dismemberment to speak of, although there was the time when I rolled my own arm up in the automatic car window. I wanted to see if it had an auto stop because I was afraid the dog would get her nose caught in there one day.  FYI, there is no auto stop and it really hurt. Watch out for doggy noses and kiddie hands.

But I digress.  I finally decided to cancel the policy, and called the number listed in the letter.  I jumped through a couple of hoops and eventually got a computer man saying they had a high volume of calls and the wait time was fifteen minutes.  Fifteen minutes!  It was only eight o’clock in the morning!  Oh well, I must be calling Zimbabwe or someplace with  a different time zone. I’d get back to them later.

At two thirty in the afternoon I called again.  High volume of calls – wait time fifteen minutes. Really? I checked the address on the letter and found I was actually calling Binghamton, New York.  New York isn’t that far away, let’s see – if it’s two thirty here, it’s four thirty there.  O.K., another potentially busy time, but the next day at 7:02 A.M.  I got the same recording. The light finally dawned. One of the computer prompts was, “If you want to cancel this policy push button #3”.  I bet anyone who pushes button #3 goes to eternal hold. They don’t want you to cancel. Duh!

Needless to say, I was annoyed.  When I told my husband about the  problem he shrugged and said, “I think you should keep the policy”.  I decided he was right. Trying to cancel was a big pain, also, I’m kind of superstitious about things like this and suspect that as soon I cancel the insurance something bad will happen.  Who knows, maybe the 15 minute wait time saved me from death and dismemberment, and then again  . . . my husband was awfully quick to tell me to keep the policy . . . maybe not. (Evil Bwa-ha-ha laugh in the background.)

9 thoughts on “Death and Dismemberment

  1. Oh my gosh, I never thought of that. I seriously need to talk to a real person there. Maybe if I push the “sign up for more insurance,” button instead of eternal hold #3 I’ll get an agent.

  2. What really makes me crazy is when you try to get through to someone and there’s no option to talk to an actual human being. Usually if you are willing to wait you can eventually talk to someone, but more and more often there’s no one there. Also, everyone wants you to go to their user unfriendly website and set up yet another account that I will immediately lose the password to. As you can see, I shouldn’t even get started on this subject.

I'd love to hear from you.

