YouTube University

PENTAX Image

I’ve been playing around with a new photo editing  system and have discovered you can teach an old dog new tricks. (I’m referring to myself, my dog Lucy would be offended if I alluded to her age). This first picture is an ad I created for a writing business I’ve lately been involved in.  I’ve also been making similir  promos for other people, and am having a lot of fun with it.PENTAX Image

Dr Mike 3

Now, the reason for this post is that I’ve recently discovered the wonders of youtube.  As I mentioned, I downloaded a photo editing system and  was really excited about what it could do, unfortunately I had no idea how to make it do those things. There was an instruction manual with the program but it was hopelessly complicated and over my head.  What to do?  Someone suggested you tube.

Hellooo, that was a very good suggestion.  As it turns out many people have created how-to videos about every detail of this photo program.  I love it!  I’m terrible with written instructions but when someone shows me how to do something it usually clicks.  Also, with a video you can hit replay a hundred times until you finally get it – without annoying the instructor.

After a little experimenting I’ve discovered I can find how-to video’s on just about anything anyone would ever want to do.  Want to know how to knit a scarf, change a car headlight bulb, or dance the tango?  Check out youtube – it’s amazing and no, I’m really not on their PR staff – I’m just a new convert, and you know how those people are.  Anyway, now I can do all kinds of fun photo editing things, and for now am focusing on helping people promote their websites, products and blogs. New tricks? This old dog is still learning.

For your own animal ad go to  https://www.fiverr.com/animaladgirl

For tips on good sites for freelancers: https://geanieroake.wordpress.com/2014/06/17/get-paid-for-writing/

7 thoughts on “YouTube University

  1. I have to agree with you about youtube, and the internet in general. It’s hard to believe that a few years ago if you wanted to know something you looked in an encyclopedia or went to the library. I worry about the library, you live there – do people still come? (You’re cute dog is going to be famous).

    • Hi Cindy, I know, things have changed haven’t they? But I’m not worried about the longevity of the library. They seem to be really good at staying relevant. We have e books and e audio books, you can download magazines, music, and other media, not to mention the public computers, free wireless and acess to family history sites etc. I think we’ll just continue to adapt.
      As for Lucy, she’s fine with being a celebrity – she loves to have her picture taken.

  2. Thanks for the link to the post on ways to earn money on line. I can’t believe how many great opportunities there are for freelancers these days. When I think of how time consuming it used to be to submit articles through the mail and then wait to hear back from an editor, then start the process all over if the answer was no – now you can sign up on a writing website and people come to you and request your services. I like your animal ad idea, I hope it works well for you.

    • I’m with you. I obviously used to go through the same drill when submitting free lance work. The internet is a great thing and is certainly making life easier for writers.

  3. This is a fun idea, I went to the animalad site and it looks like you’ve had lots of interest. It never ceases to amaze me how the internet has opened up so many opportunities for small businesses. Maybe one day you won’t be small anymore. Best of luck.

I'd love to hear from you.

